Heriot-Watt staff

Co-director Lyell Centre

Dr Thomas Wagner

Dr Thomas Wagner
Co-director Lyell Centre
Professor of Earth System Science, EGIS
Email: T.Wagner@hw.ac.uk
Phone (direct): +44 (0)131 451 3300

Heriot-Watt staff in September 2017

Professors

Dr Andreas Bush

Dr Andreas Busch
Associate Professor in GeoEnergies
Phone: +44 (0) 131 451 3035
Email: a.busch@hw.ac.uk

Dr Alex Poulton

Dr Alex Poulton
Associate Professor in Biological Oceanography, Marine Ecology and Biogeochemistry
Phone: +44 (0) 131 451 3891
Email: A.Poulton@hw.ac.uk

Dr Andrew K. Sweetman

Dr Andrew K Sweetman
Associate Professor in Marine Benthic Ecology,
Leader of the Marine Benthic Ecology and In-Situ Technology group
Telephone: +44 (0)131 451 3993
Email: A.Sweetman@hw.ac.uk

Dr Qingping Zou

Dr Qingping Zou
Professor of Risk, Hazards and Uncertainty,
Starting 1 December 2017

Research staff and fellows

Dr Juliane Bischoff

Dr Juliane Bischoff
Laboratory Manager, Geosciences
Telephone: +44 (0)131 451 3260
Email: J.Bischoff@hw.ac.uk

Heidi L Burdett

Dr Heidi L Burdett
Lyell Research Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 3912
Email: h.burdett@hw.ac.uk

Joe Casillo

Joe Casillo
ENI Lab Technician
Email: j.casillo@hw.ac.uk

Dr Sabine den Hartog

Dr Sabine den Hartog
Lyell Research Fellow
Starting January 2018

Dr Onoriode Esegbue

Dr Onoriode Esegbue
Postdoctoral Researcher
Geosciences Group
Email: o.esegbue@hw.ac.uk

Dr Babette Hoogakker

Dr Babette Hoogakker
Lyell Research Fellow
Phone: +44 (0) 131 451 3912
Email: B.Hoogakker@hw.ac.uk

Dr Ryan Pereira

Dr Clayton Magill
Lyell Research Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0)131 451 3839
Email: C.Magill@hw.ac.uk

Dr Ryan Pereira

Dr Ryan Pereira
Lyell Research Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0)131 451 3537
Email: R.Pereira@hw.ac.uk

Dr Kristina Peterson

Dr Kristina Peterson
Geosciences laboratory manager
Telephone: +44 (0)131 451 3260
Email: KP35@hw.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Pratscher

Dr Jennifer Pratscher
Lyell Research Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 3370
Email: J.Pratscher@hw.ac.uk

Dr Julia R. de Rezende

Dr Julia R de Rezende
Lyell Research Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0) 131 451 3839
Email: j.de.rezende@hw.ac.uk

PhD students

Marta Maria Cecchetto

Marta Maria Cecchetto
Postgraduate Student
Ecosystem-wide survey of ecosystem function across the deep seafloor biome of the Clarion Clipperton Zone to help assess and manage the impacts of polymetallic nodule mining.
Email: mc118@hw.ac.uk

Rob Harbour

Rob Harbour
Postgraduate Student
Biological communities associated with organic falls in deep Norwegian fjords
Email: rph2@hw.ac.uk

Beau Marsh

Beau Marsh
Postgraduate student
Role of the world's deepest living marine algae in the global carbon cycle
Email: bcm2@hw.ac.uk

Melanie Mertesdorf

Melanie Mertesdorf
Postgraduate Student,
High-sulphur source rock systems — expanding the potential of unconventional resources
Email: mvm4@hw.ac.uk

Lena Narman

Lena Narman
Postgraduate Student
Carbon transfer across the river-shelf-basin transect into the South China Sea
Email: lsn1@hw.ac.uk

Sahriza Salwani Bt Md Shah

Sahriza Salwani Bt Md Shah
Postgraduate Student
Implication of mineralogical and petrophysical property changes on the mechanical integrity of reservoir and seal rocks for safe CO2 storage
Email: sahriza_mdshah@petronas.com.my

Amirsaman Rezaeyan

Bruce Steel
Postgraduate Student
Microbial Lignocellulose Degradation in the Environment
Email: bs54@hw.ac.uk

Sara Trojahn

Sara Trojahn
Postgraduate Student
The role of dissolved organic matter in Atmosphere-Land-Ocean interactions
Email: st78@hw.ac.uk

Fieldwork on a bridge